Floridian Adventures

August 29, 2010 at 10:35 PM (Posts)


Every summer I go to Florida with my grandparents and while there’s no internet service (and no blog) it’s always a ton of fun!

This year my grandma and I went to the Everglades, a Flamingo Garden, and the beach. A lot. 🙂

We have a condo in Pompano Beach, and it’s literally two blocks away from the beach, and this amazing pier. A few nights we went out there and took a walk along the pier. From the beach, it doesn’t look that long, but let me tell you it’s a Trick! There were so many people fishing, in the dark. It was pretty cool to watch, and the view was killer 🙂 Seeing the sand from all the way out over the ocean is weird, but cool. Plus, it was near the full moon, so it was soo beautiful.

During the day, not so amazing. The sun is so strong it feels like the sand is on Fire. The water was nice, but you couldn’t stay out of it for more than 10 minutes without burning.

I wasn’t sure what a Flamingo Garden was at first, but it ended up being pure awesomeness 🙂  I happen to Adore peacocks, and there were so many there! Just walking around everywhere! The Flamingo Gardens that we went to used to be an orchard or something owned by the Wrays. They had a trolley tour around the grounds, wildlife shows, and a Wray home-turned-museum. Like everything in Florida, they closed at 5 so we didn’t have much time there, but it was most definitely worth it. They had flamingo, panther, and aviary exhibits and a ‘Flamingo Cafe’.

The Everglades was by far the best part of the trip 🙂 It was near- indescribable. Waiting for the airboat was torture in the 100 degreee heat, but I didn’t mind much. The boat ride was about an hour long, and our guide was really funny. We saw three alligators,  and a Lot of plant life. Which was the best part 🙂 I didn’t have my camera with me but I took about 300 pictures on my phone. I hope you’re fortunate enough to experience that one day.

All in all, I had a great time 🙂 but I missed my friends soo badly. I’m happy to be home 🙂 and Almost ready to start high school.

3 Comments

  1. Jingle said,

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/09/monday-poetry-potluck-kings-queens-and.html

    Hello, friend:

    Our Monday Poetry Potluck Is NOW open, linking is open from Sunday 8pm to Tuesday, 8pm, welcome join us by linking in 1 to 3 poems, you could use an old poem, the more you share, the happier we are…hurry up!
    Thanks in advance.
    Hope to see you soon…

  2. Jingle said,

    Glad to see you smile, friends will meet sooner or later…

    beautiful reflections!

    • Amaya'sLove said,

      The calm happiness was very refreshing, a nice start to the new school year. I’m glad you appreciated it
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

