heart breaking cold..

November 5, 2010 at 7:38 PM (Poetry)


light seeps in, blinding behind my lids

I see a shaft of bright, faces leaning in

the cold metal beneath my back makes me shiver

they don’t seem to notice my discomfort

as their words blur and fade, I wonder who they are

I feel as though they’re speaking an alien tongue

fingers probe my skin, warm to me as always

then I become queasy, realizing they’re moving me

lights pass again, brighter than before

then darkness, I try to blink

but nothing appears, the darkness gets blacker

my foggy mind contemplates this change

I trail my fingers on the surface above me

wood, hard, unfeeling wood

I hear a whistling, the scream mental

then I let it go, shrieking until my throat’s raw

finally, my body responds as I flail around

hitting and flinging myself against the inside of this casket

as the inside of my mind is being ravaged

there is no air, I can’t breathe

I can’t breathe, I can’t breathe

I can’t breathe; my soul slumps

3 Comments

  1. Olivia said,

    I wanted to say, thank you so very much for your previous participation at Jingle Poetry potluck.
    Your entry adds light and love to our community; we would love to have you this coming Monday,
    Any poem is welcome.
    Keep shining,
    You Are The Best!
    xoxox

    • Amaya'sLove said,

      Thank you so much ❤
      I appreciate your comment and the opportunity that Jingle Poetry Potluck creates to share my poetry, and read others
      xoxo
      AshlyFlora

  2. Olivia said,

    Very Intense Imagery- deep words my Friend- very powerful.. xox

Leave a Reply

